AIHEC Officers and Board of Directors


The officers of AIHEC are elected at the annual fall Board of Directors meeting and serve on the Executive Committee of AIHEC. The following individuals will serve as officers from October 2020–October 2022:

Chair David Yarlott, Jr. Little Big Horn College
Vice Chair Elmer Guy Navajo Technical University
Secretary Leander R. McDonald United Tribes Technical College
Treasurer Justin Guillory Northwest Indian College
Member-At-Large Cynthia Lindquist Cankdeska Cikana Community College


The Executive Committee of AIHEC is composed of the officers and the chairs of the following standing committees:

Membership & Accreditation Sandra L. Boham Salish Kootenai College
Research Leander R. McDonald United Tribes Technical College
Student Activities Robert Martin Institute of American Indian Arts


The Board of Directors of AIHEC is composed of the presidents or acting or interim presidents of each TCU that is a Regular Member of the organization. Each director serves as long as he or she holds the position of president of the member organization.

Sean Chandler, President Aaniiih Nakoda College Harlem, MT
Duane Bedell, President Bay Mills Community College Brimley, MI
Aaron Lafromboise, Interim President Blackfeet Community College Browning, MT
Cynthia Lindquist, President Cankdeska Cikana Community College Fort Totten, ND
Richard Littlebear, President Chief Dull Knife College Lame Dear, MT
Chris Caldwell, President College of Menominee Nation Keshena, WI
Dr. Monte Randall, President College of the Muscogee Nation Okmulgee, OK
Charles Roessel, President Diné College Tsaile, AZ
Stephanie Hammitt, President Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College Cloquet, MN
Haven Gourneau, President Fort Peck Community College Poplar, MT
Julia Good Fox, Interim President Haskell Indian Nations University Lawrence, KS
Justina Wilhelm, President Iḷisaġvik College Barrow, AK
Robert Martin, President Institute of American Indian Arts Santa Fe, NM
Lori Ann Sherman, President Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College Baraga, MI
Russell Swagger, President Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe University Hayward, WI
Helen Zaikina-Montgomery, Interim President Leech Lake Tribal College Cass Lake, MN
David Yarlott Jr., President Little Big Horn College Crow Agency, MT
Manoj Patil, President Little Priest Tribal College Winnebago, NE
Elmer Guy, President Navajo Technical University Crownpoint, NM
Michael Oltrogge, President Nebraska Indian Community College Macy, NE
Justin Guillory, President Northwest Indian College Bellingham, WA
Twyla Baker, President Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College New Town, ND
Thomas Shortbull, President Oglala Lakota College Kyle, SD
Dan King, President Red Lake Nation College Red Lake, MN
Carla Sineway, President Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College Mount Pleasant, MI
Sandra L. Boham, President Salish Kootenai College Pablo, MT
Lionel Bordeaux, President Sinte Gleska University Mission, SD
Lane Azure, President Sisseton Wahpeton College Agency Village, SD
Laurel Vermillion, President Sitting Bull College Fort Yates, ND
Monte Monteith, Interim President Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute Albuquerque, NM
Cory Sangrey-Billy, President Stone Child College Box Elder, MT
Paul Robertson, President Tohono O'odham Community College Sells, AZ
Donna Brown, President Turtle Mountain Community College Belcourt, ND
Leander R. McDonald, President United Tribes Technical College Bismarck, ND
Anna Sheppard, Interim President White Earth Tribal and Community College Mahnomen, MN